Chamba: A MoU was signed between the District Administration Chamba and NHPC Ltd for execution of Pilot Hydrogen Project in the area of mobility in the presence of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur at Chamba today.

 Group General Manager of NHPC A.K. Pathak signed the MoU on behalf of NHPC whereas Deputy Commissioner D.C. Rana signed the MoU on behalf of the State Government.

Chief Minister said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi had announced that India will go Carbon neutral by 2070 and by 2030 India will generate 500 GW from non-fossil fuel sources which will be 50 percent of total installed capacity and this initiative of State Government with cooperation of NHPC will be a big milestone in this regard.  

Jai Ram Thakur said that the Green Hydrogen project at Chamba has been taken up by NHPC as an initiative and MOU is being signed between HP Government and NHPC Ltd for execution of Pilot Hydrogen Project in the area of Mobility. 

Chief Minister said that Grid connected Ground Mounted Solar PV plant of 300 KW in the area of 200 acre approximate would be installed and Power of same would be used in the electrolyser to produce hydrogen.  He said that about 20 kg Hydrogen per day would be generated through electrolysis process and would be considered as green hydrogen and would be stored in pressurizing form.  He said that Water nine to 12 liters would be utilized to produce one kilogram of hydrogen fuel.  

Group General Manager NHPC S.K. Sandhu said that this was an initiative of Chairman NHPC A.K. Singh and under this initiative the produced hydrogen would be stored in the fuel tank having capacity 20kg of a mobility such as bus, car etc and from fuel tank this hydrogen would go to the hydrogen fuel cells installed in the bus as a part of main engine.  These fuel cells would be capable to generate electric power and this power would be used to run engine bus up to 8 hrs continuously or 200 Km in the local area of Chamba. NHPC would also provide one 32 +1 seaters bus under this pilot project which would improve the transportation of area with zero emission of carbon.

Speaker State Vidhan Sabha Vipin Singh Parmar, MP Kishan Kapoor, Chief Whip Vikram Jaryal, MLA Jiya Lal Kapoor and Pawan Nayar, Chief Secretary Ram Subhag Singh were present on the occasion among others.

Leave A Reply

Exit mobile version